CloudMe is a file syncing service. The application can be run as a Windows Service using FireDaemon Pro, which allows you to have the application start automatically at boot prior to login, start multiple instances of the application and more. This HOWTO will show you how to set it up. You can also use FireDaemon Fusion to manage FireDaemon and other Windows services via a web browser.

CloudMe Setup Under FireDaemon Pro

Sign up for a CloudMe account on the official website if you haven't already. Then download and install the latest version of CloudMe from the CloudMe site.

After installing, run CloudMe and set up your preferences and folders to sync. Be sure to visit the settings and uncheck "Start CloudMe when I login to the computer", as FireDaemon Pro will start CloudMe for you. Exit CloudMe after configuring it to suit your preferences.

Download and install FireDaemon Pro into the directory of your choice, typically C:\Program Files\FireDaemon.

Next start the FireDaemon GUI from the desktop shortcut. Click on the "Create a new service definition" button in the toolbar (or type Ctrl+N) and enter the information into the fields as you see below. Adjust the paths to suit your installation.

  • Executable: The path to the CloudMe.exe file. The default is C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Local\Programs\CloudMe\CloudMe.exe
  • Working Directory: The directory containing the CloudMe.exe file. The default is C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Local\Programs\CloudMe
  • Parameters: None. Leave this field blank.

Now click on the Settings tab. If you DON'T want to see CloudMe running, uncheck the Interact with Desktop check box & select "Hidden" from the "Show Window" dropdown. You can change the Process Priority to allocate more CPU time to CloudMe or specify which CPU or core that CloudMe will run on (in the case of multi-processor, hyperthreaded or multi-core CPUs).

Now click OK to finish setup and start CloudMe!

Note: In order for CloudMe to work in Session 0, you may need to switch to Session 0 and log in to your CloudMe account. You only need to do this once.